

The 34th *Consecutive Running* of the HOOK Race July 15, 2017 Racine to M&M Yacht Club (Menominee, MI)

Featuring a Spinnaker Fleet for all LMPHRF rated Yachts, including those that are sailed Double and Single Handed, ...and our motorized Cruising Fleet.

Notice and Conditions of Race

1.0 Organizing Authority

The Racine Yacht Club HOOK Committee (RYCHC) shall represent the Racine Yacht Club and the M&M Yacht Club (MMYC) as the Organizing Authority of the Hook Race.

2.0 Rules

2.1 The HOOK Race shall be governed by the rules as defined in the current *Racing Rules of*

*Sailing (*RRS).

- 2.2 The Racing Rules will be modified as follows:
 - (a) If there is a conflict between this notice and the Sailing Instructions, the latter will take precedence. This changes Rule 63.7

3.0 Eligibility, Equipment and Entry

- 3.1 Yachts shall be at least 24 feet in length on deck.
- 3.2 Yachts can register for the Spinnaker Fleet or the Cruising Fleet.
- 3.3 The Race Committee shall have full authority to determine the suitability of any yacht for entry in any fleet, and may divide any fleet into divisions at its discretion.
- 3.4 The Organizing Authority may exclude a specific yacht from the HOOK Race by invoking Rule 76 of the Racing Rules of Sailing (Exclusion of Boats or Competitors) if it determines that the yacht would incur a safety risk by participating.
- 3.5 Entry Documentation shall include the following:
 - (a) A completed entry form including the Waiver and Release of Liability signed by the Skipper, or Person In Charge (PIC), who is 18 years or older.
 - (b) Entry is not complete until the Organizing Authority receives a Waiver of Release of Liability signed by each skipper and crew member. Skippers waivers are submitted during the entry process. All crew waivers shall be submitted no later than the Skippers meeting. All waivers can be digitally signed online on the event web site at www.yachtscoring.com/emenu.cfm?elD=4046. In the event of a crew member substitution or addition after the Skippers meeting, the crew member must submit a Waiver of Release of Liability prior to racing for that boat's entry to remain valid.
 - (c) Each yacht sailing in the Spinnaker Fleet (Monohull and Multihull) shall provide a valid 2017 LMPHRF Certificate, signed by the Skipper before their registration is valid prior to the entry deadline of July 9, 2017. If a yacht's LMPHRF Certificate is not received by the deadline they can sail in the Cruising Fleet, but not the Spinnaker Fleet.
 - (d) Each yacht shall provide a current certificate of insurance with a minimum of \$300,000 liability coverage.
 - (e) The appropriate entry fee:
 - \$185 if entry paid by March 1,2017
 \$235 if entry paid by June 15, 2017
 \$265 if entry paid after June 15, 2017 *No Refunds* will be made after June 15, 2017
 Refund requests on or before June 15 will be half the entry fee. *NO entries will be accepted after July 9, 2017*

Registration shall be made online at:

www.yachtscoring.com/emenu.cfm?elD=4046

4.0 Schedule of Events Racine Yacht Club

Friday, July 14 1500 to 2000.....Check-in 1700.....Dinner and pre-race party at RYC 1900.....Skippers' Meeting – RYC Patio

Saturday, July 15 0700 to 0900.....Late check-in 0700 to 1000.....Buffet breakfast

5.0 Schedule of Events at M&M Yacht Club

Monday, July 17 1500......Gosling's Black Seal/Dark'n Stormy Rum Party 1800.....Dinner 1900.....Awards (Presentation hour subject to finishing times.)

6.0 Race

Saturday, July 15, 2017	Cruising Fleet	First Warning at 0830 hours.
	Spinnaker Fleet	First Warning at 1000 hours

7.0 Sailing Instructions

Sailing Instructions shall be distributed at Check-in.

8.0 Course

Racine to Menominee, MI via the Porte Des Morts Passage as described in the Sailing Instructions.

9.0 Scoring

Each yacht shall be scored in the Spinnaker Fleet using the LMPHRF Distance Handicap Time on Distance, expressed in nautical miles. The handicap distance for scoring purposes shall be 189.04 nautical miles. Note: Multihulls may compete in their own division but will not be scored for an overall award. A One Design division for division finish only, may be scored by finish time without handicap.

Each Yacht shall be scored in the Cruising Fleet using the Portsmouth scoring tabulation system and conditions as specified in the Cruising Fleet Sailing Instructions.

10.0 Awards

Flags will be presented at MMYC at the conclusion of the race. Trophies will be presented at the RYC Annual Awards Ball.

11.0 Safety Equipment and Special Regulations

All Yachts shall abide by the HOOK Race Safety Conditions and Regulations which will be posted on the RYC HOOK web site.

12.0 Disclaimer of Liability

All participants (Skippers, Crew Members, Associated Persons) participate in the HOOK Race entirely at their own risk. See Rule 4, Decision to Race. The Organizing Authority will not accept any liability for property damage or personal injury or death sustained in conjunction with, prior to, during, or after the race.

13.0 Additional information

Docking and accommodation information in Racine and Marinette/Menominee will be included with each contestant's entry acknowledgement letter. For additional information, please contact:

• Racine Yacht Club Phone (262) 634-8585; Fax (262) 634-8971; office@racineyachtclub.org An entry form is available at this website: www.yachtscoring.com/emenu.cfm?elD=4046

- The <u>HOOK Race Safety Conditions and Regulations</u> are available at Racine Yacht Club's Website. <u>www.racineyachtclub.org</u>
- Scott Lewis, HOOK Committee Chairman, <u>hookchair@racineyachtclub.org</u>
- Hook Race Officials:

Racine Yacht Club Commodore: Bob Sample HOOK Race Committee Chairman: Scott Lewis Principal Race Officer: Bob Sample, U S Sailing Certified Race Official Principal Scoring Officer: Catherine Sample, U S Sailing Certified Race Official Judge: Jeff Maier, US Sailing Certified Race Official

THE HOOK

Overall Winners

2016 Heat Wave 2015 Twister 2014 Windlassie 2013 **Big Meanie** Thunder 2012 2011 Sojourner 2010 Roque Flash Gordon 2009 2008 Assassin 2007 Sirocco 2006 Blue Tango 2005 Syrena Syrena 2004 2003 Lionheart 2002 Sabotage Uber Alles 2001 Surface Tension 2000 1999 Zippy Kinky II 1998 1997 Zephyr 1996 Siren Song 1995 Siren Song 1994 Siren Song 1993 Rainbow 1992 Falcon 1991 Arbitrage 1990 Falcon 1989 Slot Machine 1988 Rainbow 1987 TARDIS 1986 Latest Trick

Dehler DB1 Du Bois 50 Irwin 33-2 Sloop Beneteau 42s7 Peterson 34 Tartan 372 Nelson Marek 36 Tripp 33 Soverel 33 C&C 33 Nelson Marek 39 B-32 B-32 Tartan 4100 J35 Rancher 41 Nelson Marek 36 J92 PJ 34 Pearson 31 Peterson 41 Peterson 41 Peterson 41 Ranger 26 Q-Boat X 1-Ton Q-Boat Heritage 1-Ton Ranger 26 Cal 43 Olson 911s

Jeremy Burns Herbert Wake Jim Strouf **James Prendergast** Stuart Keys David Pollock Peter Engel Mitch Hubert Susan Just **Doug Vaccarello Rick Trisco** Nicholas and Angela Hayes Nicholas and Angela Hayes Steve Roake **Ray Sabinash** Gerhardt Knop **Brethorst /Schaefer** Spencer Thomason James Murphy John Chelius Tom and Lisa Merlin Tom and Lisa Merlin Tom and Lisa Merlin Duke and Mary Rahmel **David Pappas Ron McNeilly David Pappas** Dr. C.W. Christenson Duke and Mary Rahmel **TARDIS Syndicate Dave Morrow**

